“Ideas are like Arseholes…”

“…everybody has one and they all stink”.

 

I’m in the process of creating an online portfolio (still under construction but it’s here: http://cargocollective.com/sanchez). In doing so I found this gem, “HireMe: the Portfolio Handbook” (http://www.portfoliohandbook.com/index.html). It’s a portfolio how-to by the 2012 Industrial Design DAAP class from the University of Cincinnati. It’s full of great advice and insights and techniques (plus actual how-to instructions, not just general directions. The Photoshop stuff goes down to the level of ‘click here’, ‘save this’, ‘right click this option’). It’s fantastic resource, especially seeing that students did it for themselves.

What caught my attention was the emphasis on showing your ideas, and how you think and arrive at solutions, and how this is more important than quality sketches and fancy CAD renders. I have lots of ideas, not many brought to fruition as I’d like, but I shouldn’t  be too precious about my ideas, so I will put them into my portfolio, because of this (from http://sivers.org/multiply):

 

“Ideas are just a multiplier of execution

It’s so funny when I hear people being so protective of ideas. (People who want me to sign an NDA to tell me the simplest idea.)

To me, ideas are worth nothing unless executed. They are just a multiplier. Execution is worth millions.

Explanation:

AWFUL IDEA = -1

WEAK IDEA = 1

SO-SO IDEA = 5

GOOD IDEA = 10

GREAT IDEA = 15

BRILLIANT IDEA = 20

NO EXECUTION = $1

WEAK EXECUTION = $1000

SO-SO EXECUTION = $10,000

GOOD EXECUTION = $100,000

GREAT EXECUTION = $1,000,000

BRILLIANT EXECUTION = $10,000,000

To make a business, you need to multiply the two.

The most brilliant idea, with no execution, is worth $20.

The most brilliant idea takes great execution to be worth $20,000,000.

That’s why I don’t want to hear people’s ideas.

I’m not interested until I see their execution.”

 

You can buy The Portfolio Handbook http://www.portfoliohandbook.com/PortfolioHandbook_UCID12.pdf.

Leave a Reply

